Global AI Datacentre Monitor
AI datacentres in China
731 MW
Epoch AI Frontier Data Centers (CC BY 4.0); sum of IT power online now calculated by Compute TerminalAs of 14 Oct 2026Source1.67 GW
Epoch AI Frontier Data Centers (CC BY 4.0); sum of planned IT power calculated by Compute TerminalAs of 14 Oct 2026SourceSites in China, online now and planned
| Site | Owner | Users | Country | Online now | Planned | Planned date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VNET Bayin Ulanqab | VNET | ByteDance | China | 221 MWEpoch AI Frontier Data Centers (CC BY 4.0)As of 14 Oct 2026Source | 700 MWEpoch AI Frontier Data Centers (CC BY 4.0)As of 14 Oct 2026Source | 1 Sep 2027 |
| Huawei Wuhu | Huawei | Not stated | China | 157 MWEpoch AI Frontier Data Centers (CC BY 4.0)As of 14 Oct 2026Source | 457 MWEpoch AI Frontier Data Centers (CC BY 4.0)As of 14 Oct 2026Source | 1 Dec 2027 |
| Huawei Horinger | Huawei | Not stated | China | 184 MWEpoch AI Frontier Data Centers (CC BY 4.0)As of 14 Oct 2026Source | 346 MWEpoch AI Frontier Data Centers (CC BY 4.0)As of 14 Oct 2026Source | 14 Feb 2028 |
| Alibaba Zhangbei | Alibaba | Alibaba | China | 169 MWEpoch AI Frontier Data Centers (CC BY 4.0)As of 14 Oct 2026Source | 169 MWEpoch AI Frontier Data Centers (CC BY 4.0)As of 14 Oct 2026Source | 3 Jan 2026 |
Source: Epoch AI, Frontier Data Centers (epoch.ai/data/data-centers) (CC BY 4.0), snapshot of 14 Oct 2026. Estimates, not company specifications.
Questions
How much AI datacentre capacity does China have?
The 4 frontier AI datacentres in Epoch AI's register in China have 731 MW of IT power online and 1.67 GW planned (sums calculated by Compute Terminal, 14 Oct 2026).
What is the largest AI datacentre in China?
By planned IT power, VNET Bayin Ulanqab (VNET): 700 MW planned, with 221 MW online at the latest estimate.
How many gigawatt-scale AI campuses are in China?
0 of the 4 sites in the register in China plan 1 GW or more of IT power.
Where does this datacentre data come from?
Epoch AI's Frontier Data Centers register (CC BY 4.0), which estimates each site's IT power over time from satellite imagery, permits and company statements. Figures are estimates, not company specifications.
Updated 14 Oct 2026. Source: Epoch AI, Frontier Data Centers (epoch.ai/data/data-centers) (CC BY 4.0); country sums calculated by Compute Terminal. Methodology: Pipeline Tracker. Not investment advice.
Free · every trading day · 08:00 ET